May 18, 2006

I Wanna Free Weekend

We�re getting a visit this weekend from JayBee, my ex-boyfriend/best friend. This is good stuff and promises much happiness. He�s flying into Baltimore tonight (even though we live a stone�s throw from Dulles � damn you, Southwest) so I�m not working tomorrow, which is also good stuff and makes me very happy. Good weekend ahead!

After this weekend, though, I feel like my entire summer has already been scheduled for me. I have absolutely no say in the matter. CD and I had grand plans for the summer, because this July marks TEN YEARS that we�ve been together, which is an awfully big deal considering my longest relationship previous to meeting him was about 9 months.

Anyway, we planned a big �Decade of D____� cheap-o trip to Europe (sleeping in hostels, eating nothing but cheese and bread, etc.), but then every single person we know decided to go and get engaged, and they all decided to get married this summer, and they all decided to get married in different parts of the country, and they all decided to put us in the poorhouse getting to their damn weddings. We have four weddings to go to this summer, and one of them is in L.A. We also have our Big Birthday Weekend and our wedding anniversary to celebrate, but friends and family have co-opted those weekends already, too. We have graduation party obligations and birthday dinners, plus people have invited themselves to stay here with us so that they can visit D.C.

I sometimes like having visitors and taking little trips and stuff, but it just kind of blows that, first of all, I�ll be using all of my vacation time in fits and spurts and won�t be able to take a proper, relaxing vacation this year; and secondly, I won�t have a single Sunday to just sit in the bathtub and read a book. I also hate that, with the exception of Jay Bee�s this weekend, none of these visits are my idea; they were kind of foisted on me, and some of them aren�t even about us; we�re just a free place to stay while people visit the monuments.

Actually, I may have some time to myself this weekend while CD and Jay Bee go off to see M:I:3, which I absolutely refuse to see on the grounds that I do not give my money to: #1 religious cults, #2 the batshit insane, and #3 mindless action crapfests promoted with speedboats and motorcycles. Maybe I�ll read in the tub while they rot their little brains.

Then, next weekend, we�re visiting friends in Philly for our birthdays; the weekend after that I�ll be in New Jersey for a graduation party full of hot lesbians while CD is in Vermont for a conference (that sounds like a set-up for a late-night Showtime movie); then it�s weddings as far as the eye can see.

|

metanephros at 10:16 am

previous | next