June 02, 2006

Hysterical Blindness

Wow. What a week.

Work was insanely busy, and I didn�t even have time to update or generally screw around on the internet. They need to hire at least five more people, and I am stressing the fuck out.

Also, my assistant was fired, and no one bothered to tell me, which is nice. Since I�m in a different state, once I prepare all of my necessary documents, I email (well, emailed) them to my assistant to be mailed, faxed, reviewed by an attorney, or whatever. All week, I emailed him stuff as usual, but when I followed up on some of my files, I realized that nothing had been sent out. I asked �Lipstick� about it, and she was like, �Oh. He got fired.�

ME: �When did this happen?�

LIPSTICK: �A few days ago.�

ME: �Didn�t anyone think that it was important for me to know this?�

LIPSTICK: �Maybe someone else can send your stuff out.�

ME: �Maybe? And what I�m asking you is why no one told me he got fired.�

LIPSTICK: �I guess just have 'S' send your stuff from now on. She�s only a temp, but she�ll be here for at least another two weeks.�

ME: �Are you listening to my question? I haven�t had my time-sensitive documents going out for DAYS. Is there any good reason for this? And shouldn�t someone permanent be taking over for him?�

Lipstick: �Do you have S's email address?�

ME: ���

I kind of gave up on the �conversation� after that, because it was going nowhere.

So yeah, things have been chaotic and gross at work, and now CD is taking off for a conference in Vermont this weekend and I�m going to miss him. This will be the first time I�m in this apartment all by myself� which may be kind of cool, actually.

I don�t think I�m going to make it to the party with the hot lesbians this weekend, as sad as that is. I really hate to admit it, but I just can�t drive to New Jersey because I am way too blind. I hate being this pathetic. CD almost always drives on long and unfamiliar trips. I feel like such a loser, but I�m honestly unable to see anything at night. I can�t read signs until they�re right on top of me, lights get weird halos around them, and I have trouble distinguishing between bushes and, you know, people. It�s scary and not so good.

It just bugs me to be so� dependent. Like, �I really want to come to your party, but I can�t because my husband�s not around and I can�t drive by myself�? Yuck. That leaves a bad taste in my mouth. I am woman, hear me roar, indeed. Damn eyeballs.

And, no I can�t get that nice LASIK surgery. I asked, believe me. My eye doctor told me that my eyesight is so crappy that in order to fix it with the cool laser, they'd have to remove so many layers that it would �destroy the integrity of [my] eyeball.� Um, no.

So the little blind lady is going to be home alone this weekend with the cats, probably knitting and watching trashy movies. Not too shabby, but not as good as hot lesbians.

|

metanephros at 4:03 pm

previous | next