March 14, 2006

A Senator, a Snitch, and Hominy Stew

Saturday night we got to hob nob with the richie-riches and the muckety-mucks at the Smithsonian Early Enrichment Center's Scholarship Benefit Auction. Put aside for a moment the fact that we could not afford to buy a single blessed thing; we were still standing beside Senator Christopher Dodd (D-CT), whom I dig wholeheartedly. Lunch with Senator Dodd in the Senate Dining Room was even an aution "item," but I certainly couldn't afford it. Even a Harry Potter movie poster went for $1,500, even though the auctioneer couldn't pronounce "Hermoine."

Anyway, free booze and a guacamole bar and coveting the clothing of the wealthy still made for some fun. We were only there because our friend Seth works for the Smithsonian, and he scored free tickets. It was a good time even though we were out-bid within seconds of throwing in our hand for anything...even when we pooled our money with three other couples.

The freakiest part of the evening had to be when Seth's (very cute) wife was bidding on an item and was very quickly outbid, and some random skeevy guy walked up to her and offered her CASH so that she could keep bidding. Um, yuck. He was also wearing a wedding ring.

Yesterday was also pretty eventful; I had a gross day at work; my supervisor kept pushing her work off on me, I had to field like 8 million calls from angry clients, and I was just feeling miserable. By 6:30 I decided I was just going to be an asshole, and I called my supervisor's boss and let loose. I told him I hated to bitch to him and snitch on my supervisor, but I'm spending so much time doing her work that I can't keep up with mine. She SUCKS and she is STUPID and she LIES and HAAAATE! I was, of course, slightly more professional in my presentation.

He actually listened and was cool and agreed with most of what I had to say. Then he did something about it. The best part is that he did it in such a way that she has no idea that I complained; she just thinks he insituted some new rules and that it's an across-the board, everyone-must-shape-up kind of thing. I just wish I had talked to him sooner.

And I made the best stew yesterday with hominy, corn, red peppers, turkey sausage, and some wicked spicy homemade salsa. I cooked it all day and garnished it with cilantro, green peppers, mango slices, and sour cream and served it over brown rice. It sounds like a lot of weird, disparate tastes together, and in a way it is, but mmmmmmmmmmm.

Then today I heated some up in the microwave oven and it made a holy mess. I never remember to cover stuff in there.

|

metanephros at 2:23 pm

previous | next