June 13, 2006

A Quick One

I just can�t believe the way work has been conspiring against my being able to update during normal working hours. I mean, what is work for if not to screw around on the internet and update my diary? What is with this "work" and "responsibility" and related nonsense? Blech.

So a quick (and ABSOLUTELY TRUE) conversation between my supervisor and me about her (14 year-old) son�s recent school trip to Washington, DC:

ME: So which sites did he see?
LIPSTICK: Oh, I have no idea.
ME: Really? Not even one?
LIPSTICK: Oh, who knows?
ME: Oh. Where did he stay?
LIPSTICK: No clue.
ME: Well, whatever � as long as he had fun.
LIPSTICK: I guess. But everyone got sick because they drank the water and there must have been microchips in it.
ME: Um.
LIPSTICK: Now everyone is sick and they can�t talk.
ME: They can�t talk?
LIPSTICK: Right.
ME: They can�t talk because of the...
LIPSTICK: Microchips.
ME: In the water.
LIPSTICK: Right.
ME: Right. So, I guess I should have warned you about the DC water.
LIPSTICK: I don�t know if it would have made a difference. Some people get dehydrated at night and need to drink, and then they get the microchips, and now it�s going around.
ME: The not talking.
LIPSTICK: Not being able to talk.
ME: Right.
LIPSTICK: And by the third day, Jake was really sick of walking, because he�s usually sitting. And he was mad because they had a dance on a boat and I wouldn�t let him get a tux with tails and a tophat and a cane.
ME: So... was it a formal dance?
LIPSTICK: No, just a dance on a boat.
ME: Oh, one of those.
LIPSTICK: Right.
ME: I have a lot of work to do. I really have to go.

|

metanephros at 5:40 pm

previous | next