June 27, 2006

Wedding Weekend

So, so tired.

We had a great time at our friend Julie�s wedding, and we totally want to live in California now, but traveling to and fro in a single weekend has left us worn out and grumpy.

Our flight to L.A. left at 5:45 on Saturday morning, and we didn�t land at LAX until 11:30 Pacific Time � then we had to drive for an hour and a half to the hotel - the shitty, moldy hotel at which they could not seem to track down an iron. Fuck you, Clocktower Inn!

But we stayed in Ventura, which was pretty awesome. We dipped our toes in the Pacific Ocean, even though it was freezing. Witness my cold face:


This guy never seems to get chilly. I guess he has more insulation than I do:

We drove waaay into the mountains for the wedding on Sunday. We got totally lost trying to find the wedding site because there is nothing out there but trailers owned by guys named Zeke sittin� outside with their shotguns and their hound dogs. Then all of a sudden, we came upon this absolutely gorgeous flower ranch. I can�t even describe how beautiful it was, so here:


The bride, of course, was stunning.

As was my husband. Lookit him, all pensive and good-looking and shit!

The wedding itself was fun, and I got to catch up with some old friends. There were also some L.A. "beautiful people" there, and I felt kind of pale and dumpy, but I was comforted by alcohol and cake.

Then more driving, flight delays, people who could not seem to understand the concept of walking in the airport, the ubiquitous screaming children on the airplane, and the guy behind us who had too much to drink and kept on screaming that we were going to crash.

Then we got home and found that a couple moved into the apartment across the courtyard, and they haven�t figured out that if your blinds are open, people can see you nekkid. I didn�t take pictures of that, though.

Now, one final picture (from a store in Ventura) � is it just me, or do you think this sign needs some � er, updating? I made CD drive back just to get a picture. Does that make me evil?


|

metanephros at 3:28 pm

previous | next